What are the 4 ways of Ignatian spirituality?

The living of Ignatian values through the charism of Ignatian spirituality involves an orientation towards serving Christ in the world using Ignatius’s tools of the Spiritual Exercises, including prayer, contemplation, spiritual direction, discernment and the daily Examen of Consciousness.

What are the steps of Ignatian spirituality?

There are five steps to the Examen as it appears in the Spiritual Exercises (n.43) of St Ignatius Loyola:
  1. 1 Give thanks. Spend a few moments in gratitude for the gifts and blessings of the day.
  2. 2 Ask for light.
  3. 3 Examine the day.
  4. 4 Seek forgiveness.
  5. 5 Resolve to change.

What are two 2 aspects of Ignatian spirituality?

Ignatian Spirituality is marked by having the insight, desire and ability to find God in all things.

What are the 4 ways of Ignatian spirituality? – Related Questions

What is the motto of Ignatian spirituality?

For the Greater Glory of God” is called “Ad Maiorem Dei Gloriam.” It is a Latin phrase and often abbreviated as “A.M.D.G.” It became the motto of the Jesuit Order. For St. Ignatius, every small or big work should be done for the greater glory of God.

What is the first pillar of Ignatian spirituality?

1: God’s Greater Glory

Ignatius sought the glory of God in all of his actions. The Latin phrase ad majorem Dei gloriam (A.M.D.G.) became a motto for the Jesuits. This is more than a slogan, however; seeking the glory of God brings us in line with the reason for our existence.

What are the 5 stages of Jesuit formation?

Below, the Society of Jesus debuts new videos narrated by Fr. Chris Calderón, SJ, on each step of Jesuit formation: novitiate, studies, regency, theology and tertianship. A Jesuit’s formation begins in the novitiate, where he spends two years learning how to pray (especially with St.

What are the steps to Ignatian meditation?

  1. Overview.
  2. Preparation.
  3. Listening/Reading.
  4. Imagination.
  5. Pray.
  6. Journal.

What are the two standards Ignatius?

Reflection: Today Ignatius presents the meditation on the Two Standards, the standard of Satan and the standard of Christ.

What are the six Jesuit values?

What are the Jesuit values of education?
  • Cura Personalis. Jesuit education emphasizes the view that each person is a unique creation of God.
  • Discernment.
  • Finding God in all things.
  • Magis .
  • Reflection.
  • Service rooted in justice and love.
  • Solidarity and kinship.

What are the three vows of Jesuits?

Four Vows. As members of a religious order, Jesuits take three vows — of poverty, chastity and obedience — and a fourth vow of obedience specifically in regard to worldwide mission.

What is an Ignatian approach?

The Ignatian pedagogical paradigm is a way of learning and a method of teaching taken from the Spiritual Exercises of Ignatius of Loyola. It is based in St. Ignatius Loyola’s Spiritual Exercises, and takes a holistic view of the world. The three main elements are Experience, Reflection, and Action.

What are the 7 steps of discernment?

Seven steps to vocational discernment
  • Prayer. What shall I do, Lord? (Acts 22:10).
  • Understanding. But then it becomes like fire burning in my heart, imprisoned in my bones; I grow weary holding it in, I cannot endure it.
  • Information.
  • Reflection.
  • Decision.
  • Action.
  • Spiritual direction.

What are the 3 steps of discernment?

Here are some tried-and-true pointers that can help you discern God’s will.
  • Step 1 – Be Aware of Yourself.
  • Step 2 – Be in Touch with God.
  • Step 3 – The Decision-Making Process Itself.
  • Step 4 – Confirm Your Decision.

What is the Ignatian prayer?

Ignatian Prayer asks us to: Use our imagination to explore the depths of a gospel story. Consider our own reactions and feelings to a gospel story. Speak directly with God about what delights us and what disturbs us in a gospel story.

How do you pray like St. Ignatius?

Three Ways to Pray Ignatian
  1. Do the Examen. At the end of the day, ask the Holy Spirit to guide your memory over the day’s events and conversations.
  2. Put yourself in a Gospel story.
  3. Pray as though you are having a conversation across the dinner table or in your living room.